Voters are no longer able to request absentee ballots by mail as it's too near the primary, however if you would still prefer to avoid any sort of crowd, you may vote absentee in person at the county courthouse through June 1. This is located 5th Street entrance of the Courthouse at 316 E. 5th St., Waterloo. This entrance is usually locked for security purposes and will only be used for absentee voting. A doorbell has been installed for voters to summon Election Office staff to hep comply with social distancing.

Parking on that side of the block is reserved for voting. Ballots may be voted there 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM through Monday, June 1. Voting will be open until 5:00 pm on May 29, and also from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm on Saturday, May 30.

Polling places on election day are reduced from 62 to seven due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Polling places and their combined precincts

Gallagher Bluedorn Performing Arts Center, 8201 Dakota St., Cedar Falls, Main Entrance:

  • All of Cedar Falls, as well as Cedar Falls Township

Waterloo West High School, 425 East Ridgeway Ave., Waterloo, Auditorium (#27) Entrance:

  • Waterloo Wards 1, 2, and 5 (six precincts in each ward)

Waterloo East High School, 214 High St., Waterloo, Main (Vine St.) Entrance:

  • Waterloo Wards 3 and 4 (six precincts in each ward)

Dunkerton Community School, 509 S. Canfield St., Dunkerton, Commons Entrance:

  • Barclay/Lester/Dunkerton Precinct (includes Barclay and Lester Townships and the city of Dunkerton)
  • Bennington Township
  • Mt. Vernon Township
  • Poyner Pct. 1/East Waterloo Precinct (includes Poyner Township Precinct 1 and East Waterloo Township
  • Union Township
  • Washington/Janesville Precinct (includes Washington Township and that part of the city of Janesville lying in Black Hawk County)

Hudson Community Center, 525 Jefferson St., Hudson:

  • Black Hawk/Hudson/Lincoln Precinct (includes Black Hawk and Lincoln Townships and the city of Hudson)
  • Evansdale Community Response Center, 911 Evans Rd., Evansdale
  • Evansdale, all four wards
  • Elk Run Heights/Raymond Precinct (includes the cities of Elk Run Heights and Raymond)

Union High School, 200 Adams St., La Porte City

  • Big Creek/La Porte City Precinct (includes Big Creek Township and the city of La Porte City)
  • Cedar/Orange Precinct (includes Cedar and Orange Townships)
  • Eagle Township
  • Poyner Pct. 2/Gilbertville/Fox/Jesup Precinct (includes Poyner Township Precinct 2, the city of Gilbertville, Fox Township, and that part of the city of Jesup lying in Black Hawk County)

(Information gathered from Black Hawk County website)

More From K92.3