A breakdown of the new league and it's players from Iowa.

Saturday kicks off a second football season. It's the Alliance of American Football. The league was announced March 20th, 2018. This league is supposed to rival the NFL since there are many former NFL players that are involved with the start of this new league.

There are currently 8 teams in the league and due to the fact that the league starts in February, all teams are in the southern part of the country. The most northern city to host an AAF team is Salt Lake City.

The 8 teams are:

Arizona Hotshots
Atlanta Legends
Birmingham Iron
Memphis Express
Orlando Apollos
Salt Lake Stallions
San Antonio Commanders
San Diego Fleet

In July, the league announced that it has signed 100 players and a few of them played college in Iowa. 5 to be exact:

Akrum Wadley • RB • Iowa • Atlanta Legends

Elijah Campbell • DB • Northern Iowa • Birmingham Iron

Oni Omoile • C • Iowa State • Memphis Express

Karter Schult • DE • Northern Iowa • Salt Lake Stallions

Joel Lanning • LB • Iowa State • San Antonio Commanders

Here are a few things different about the AAF compared to the NFL:

  • There will be no kickoffs. Teams will start on the 25 yard line.
  • No Extra Points. Teams must go for 2 after touchdowns.
  • No onside kicks. Teams will go back to their own 20 and play one 4th down with 12 yards to gain. If they gain the 12 yards on one offensive play, the offense keeps the ball.

Games will air on CBS starting Saturday February 9th.


More From K92.3