The final night of the 2017 Frostbuster series was a challenging night for the drivers, but Johnny Scott survived to take the IMCA Modified feature win on Sunday, April 9, 2017.

Benton County Speedway
Benton County Speedway

Scott started 12th for the 25-lap Modified main event at the Benton County Speedway. He was able to slip inside race leader Kyle Bwown working lap 19. Once he took over the lead, Scott had to negotiate a rough turn one and challenges from Brown and Jason Wolla for the win.

Despite a restart with four laps remaining, Scott fended off all would-be challengers for the victory.

“I didn’t think there was any way, especially with so many good cars here, but we made the right move at the right time,” said Scott, also the $1,000 feature winner ahead of Brown at the opening night Frostbuster Friday at Marshalltown. “The bottom was dominant and I had to take the chance when Kyle bobbled a little.”

The two made contact going into the first turn. Scott drove by for the eventual win, chased to the checkers by Brown, Wolla, Scott Hogan and 20th starting Joel Rust.

“There was a little contact but it was not intentional. I don’t race like that. It was a racing deal,” Scott said before loading up following his first-ever visit to Vinton. “There were definitely a lot of good guys here tonight. It’s hard to win races when everyone is so competitive.”

Patrick Flannagan had started outside the front row and led the first six times around the track. He was quick to pull away from the field but saw those advantages erased by a pair of early cau­tions.

Kyle Brown pulled double-duty throughout the weekend driving a Damon Murty back-up Stock Car. Brown had finished second behind Jay Schmidt during the IMCA Stock Car feature.

Damon Murty was leading and looking to run away from the rest of the field before getting side­ways and sparking a seven car melee. Schmidt inherited the lead for the restart and won ahead of Brown and Larry Karcz.

Tyler Soppe led start to finish in a Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature stopped just once by cau­tion, on the opening lap. Johnathon Logue Jr. was second and Sam Wieben scored third.

And Eric Stanton backed his Saturday Frostbuster win at Boone with the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock checkers, passing August Bach for the led with three laps to go. Bach exited with a flat tire and Matt Pohlman and Leah Wroten were next across the stripe.

Thank you to Bill Martin (IMCA Media Relations) for the race recap

APRIL 9, 2017

1. Johnny Scott, Cameron, Mo.; 2. Kyle Brown, Madrid; 3. Jason Wolla, Ray, N.D.; 4. Scott Hogan, Vinton; 5. Joel Rust, Grundy Center; 6. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Ill.; 7. Casey Sky­berg, Rapid City, S.D.; 8. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton; 9. Ryan Maitland, Waterloo; 10. Colby Heish­man, Brooklyn; 11. Todd Shute, Des Moines; 12. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 13. Justin Medler, Minot, N.D.; 14. Patrick Flannagan, Cedar Rapids; 15. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo.; 16. Vern Jackson, Waterloo; 17. Tim Ward, Harcourt; 18. Joe Docekal, Dysart; 19. Brandon Mait­land, Waterloo; 20. Joe McBirnie, Boone; 21. Corey Dripps, Waterloo; 22. Jeff Bodendorfer, Water­ford, Wis.; 23. Mitch Manternach, Earlville; 24. David Brown, Kellogg; 25. J.J. Scott, Iowa City.

1. Jay Schmidt, Tama; 2. Kyle Brown, Madrid; 3. Larry Karcz, Pulaski, Wis.; 4. John Oliver Jr., Danville; 5. Devin Snellenberger, Pulaski, Wis.; 6. Damon Murty, Chelsea; 7. Shane Ebaugh, Evansdale; 8. Scooter Dulin, Cedar Rapids; 9. Angel Munoz, Lamar, Colo.; 10. Jeremy Christians, Horicon, Wis.; 11. Reese Norton, Monticello; 12. Justin Stander, Shellsburg; 13. Tyler Muirhead, Mabank, Texas; 14. Norman Chesmore, Rowley; 15. Brett Koehler, Two Riv­ers, Wis.; 16. Brendon Labatte, Weyburn, Sask.; 17. John Adams, Denmark, Wis.; 18. Chad Siems, Shellsburg.

1. Tyler Soppe, Sherrill; 2. Johnathon Logue Jr., Boone; 3. Sam Wieben, Dysart; 4. Kyle Olson, Cedar Rapids; 5. Jake McBirnie, Boone; 6. Wyatt Block, Tigerton, Wis.; 7. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids; 8. Danny Dvorak, Vinton; 9. Bruce Belland, Eagle River, Wis.; 10. Tim Warner, Fon du Lac, Wis.; 11. Jami Ritter, Keystone; 12. Keith Gogel, Solon; 13. Tom Stark, Egg Harbor, Wis.; 14. Lee Rouse, Atkins; 15. Jarrett Franzen, Maquoketa; 16. Ryan King, Montour; 17. Ben Chapman, Clarence.

1. Eric Stanton, Carlisle; 2. Matt Pohlman, Keystone; 3. Leah Wroten, Independ­ence; 4. Justin Wacha, Vinton; 5. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 6. Tyson Overton, Carlisle; 7. Clint Nelson, Baxter; 8. Jason Bruns, Newton; 9. Blair Hanson, Estevan, Sask.; 10. Tonia Ste­vens, Guernsey; 11. August Bach, Reinbeck; 12. Daniel Wauters, Iowa City; 13. Korbin Nourse, Stuart; 14. Kyle Dulin, Keystone; 15. Jeremy Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 16. Dale Kite, Keystone.

More From K92.3