Justin Kay topped a field of 36 IMCA Late Models for the Deery Brothers Summer Series win at Farley Speedway.

On April 21, 2017, Farley Speedway Promotions welcomed the dirt track racing community to the new and improved Farley Speedway. There is a new turn three and four wall. The pit area wall has been moved, and there is still more to come.

Kay started on the outside front row, and he took the lead at the drop of the green flag. Despite the easy path to the lead, Kay still had to earn the victory.

The Wheatland, IA driver jumped out to a comfortable lead, but the straightaway advantage was erased when the caution flag waived on lap eight. On the restart, Jesse Sobbing began to apply pressure on Kay for the race lead. As the duo worked through lapped traffic, Sobbing was able to pull even, but another yellow flagged foiled his attempt.

Kay was able to hold off the field for the final 13 laps for the win making him the third different winner in as many series races this season.

“I felt the line was good for around two laps after the cautions,” Kay said from victory lane. “I could go where I wanted to. Being out front helps. It allows you to move around.”

Cayden Carter finished second. Hard charger Richie Gustin raced from a 22nd starting spot to finish third followed by Matt Ryan and Luke Goedert.

By virtue of a seventh place finish, Tyler Bruening held onto an eight point lead in the series standings over Ryan.

Carter was the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing winner.

Carter, Ryan Dolan, Denny Eckrich and Curt Martin were $50 Malvern Bank heat race winners.

Next up is the series’ second event of Highway 20 Triple Crown weekend Saturday, April 22 at Independence Motor Speedway before completing the Highway 20 Triple Crown Sunday at Dubuque Speedway. Both of those events also pay $2,000-to-win.

APRIL 21, 2017

Feature Results: 1. Justin Kay, Wheatland; 2. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 3. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 4. Matt Ryan, Davenport; 5. Luke Goedert, Guttenburg; 6. Chad Holladay, Muscatine; 7. Tyler Bruening, Decorah; 8. Jeff Tharp, Sherrill; 9. Jake Neal, Omaha, Neb.; 10. Curt Martin, Independence; 11. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern; 12. Nick Marolf, Wilton; 13. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon; 14. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 15. Paul Conrad, Colo; 16. John Emerson, Waterloo; 17. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 18. Spencer Diercks, Davenport; 19. Andy Eckrich, Oxford; 20. Rick Wendling, Hazleton; 21. Jon Merfeld, Dubuque; 22. Travis Denning, Sterling, Ill.; 23. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin; 24. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque.

1st Heat (top three): 1. Carter; 2. A. Eckrich; 3. DeFrance; 4. Goedert; 5. Bruening; 6. Troy Hovey, Decorah; 7. Conrad; 8. Bryce Carey, Ionia; 9. Kyle Krampe, Baxter.

2nd Heat: 1. Dolan; 2. Diercks; 3. Kay; 4. Ryan; 5. Jay Johnson, West Burlington; 6. Curt Schroeder, Newton; 7. Denning; 8. Luke Merfeld, Dubuque; 9. Joel Callahan, Dubuque.

3rd Heat: 1. D. Eckrich; 2. Sobbing; 3. Marolf; 4. J. Merfeld; 5. Emerson; 6. Lyle Klein, Sherrill; 7. Rory Metcalf, Iowa City; 8. Kip Siems, Cedar Falls; 9. Scott Fitzpatrick, Cedar Falls.

4th Heat: 1. Martin; 2. Hurst; 3. Wendling; 4. Aikey; 5. Tharp; 6. Neal; 7. David Webster, Monroe, Wis.; 8. Gustin; 9. Holladay.

1st “B” Feature (top five): 1. Bruening; 2. Emerson; 3. Goedert; 4. J. Merfeld; 5. Conrad; 6. Hovey; 7. Carey; 8. Siems; 9. Krampe; 10. Klein; 11. Metcalf; 12. Fitzpatrick.

2nd “B” Feature: 1. Aikey; 2. Holladay; 3. Denning; 4. Ryan; 5. Gustin; 6. Tharp; 7. Johnson; 8. Neal; 9. Schroeder; 10. Callahan; 11. Webster; 12. L. Merfeld.

 IMCA Modifieds (Top 5): 1. Kelly Shryock, Fertile; 2. Justin Kay, Wheatland; 3. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton; 4. Vern Jackson, Waterloo; 5. Austin Moyer, Key West.

IMCA Sportmods (Top 5): 1. Tyler Soppe, Sherril; 2. Jerry Miles, Bernard; 3. Kyle Hoffman, Lancaster, WI; 4. Jason Schlangen; 5. Brandon Schmitt, Beaver Dam, WI.

IMCA Stock Cars (Top 5): 1. David Brandies, Wilton; 2. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids; 3. Norman Chesmore, Rowley; 4. Tom Schmitt, Independence; 5. Scooter Dulin, Vinton.

Outlaw 4 Cylinders (Top 5): 1. Dylan Clinton, 2. Dylan Flogel, 3. Dereck Beck, 4. Domionic Boeffeli, 5. John Campbell.

More From K92.3